Friday, October 28, 2005

Elton's TV comedy gets green light from ABC

Elton John's proposed comedy about an aging rocker and his manager has gotten the green light from ABC, the usually unreliable Contact Music reports.

Pop superstar SIR ELTON JOHN is close to realising his Hollywood career - America's ABC network has agreed to broadcast a pilot episode of his TV show.

The ROCKET MAN star is following in the footsteps of his long-term love, producer DAVID FURNISH, by executive producing HIM AND US.

The project stars an ageing rocker, his manager and his group of hangers-on.

SEX AND THE CITY executive producer CINDY CHUPACK is currently writing the script, writes trade paper Hollywood Reporter.

An article from that has a little more information, some of it being wrong;

LOS ANGELES ( After kicking around the various developmental corridors of ABC for the past year, a comedy pilot backed by Elton John has finally received the green light.
The pilot, based loosely on John's life and those of some of his peers, will follow the life of a graying rock star, his manager and other assorted hangers-on. Its title, "Him and Us," is also the name of a song on John's most recent album, "Peachtree Road."

Cindy Chupack, a veteran of "Sex and the City" and "Everybody Loves Raymond," is writing the pilot, which will likely be a single-camera comedy, the showbiz trade papers report. She'll also executive produce with John; the singer's manager, Bob Halley; "Desperate Housewives" exec producer Michael Edelstein; and Bruce Roberts.

John is also expected to write original songs for the series with long-time collaborator Bernie Taupin.

"Him and Us" first went into development about a year ago, but it passed through last spring's pilot season without a formal pilot order. With a script now written, ABC and sister studio Touchstone TV decided to forge ahead.

Tuesday, October 25, 2005

"Elton John's Christmas Party" set to drop November 10.

Universal Music and Starbucks Hear Music are set to release

"Elton John's Christmas Party"
which features 21 tracks chosen by Elton. The set also includes a duet between Elton and Joss Stone on a new John/Taupin track titled "Calling It Christmas" which is also rumored to be released as a single. Starbucks and Universal will donate $2 for every CD purchased to the EJAF.

Here is the complete track listing for for Elton John’s Christmas Party:
1. Step Into Christmas-Elton John
2. Feliz Navidad- El Vez
3. Frosty the Snowman-The Ronettes
4. Santa Claus Is Coming to Town-Bruce Springsteen
5. The Man with All the Toys-The Beach Boys
6. A Change at Christmas (Say It Isn’t So)-The Flaming Lips
7. It Doesn’t Often Snow at Christmas-Pet Shop Boys
8. Spotlight on Christmas-Rufus Wainwright
9. Jingle Bell Rock-The Ventures
10. Run Rudolph Run-Chuck Berry
11. Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer-The Crystals
12. Playa’s Ball-Outkast
13. Merry Christmas Baby-Otis Redding
14. Christmas Island-Jimmy Buffett
15. St. Patrick’s Day-John Mayer
16. Please Come Home for Christmas-The Eagles
17. Christmas Must Be Tonight-The Band
18. 2000 Miles-The Pretenders
19. December Will Be Magic Again-Kate Bush
20. New Year’s Day-U2
21. Calling It Christmas-Elton John and Joss Stone